The Beginning of a Series

Lisa Smith Sketch 2 72 Res

 “If you don’t like the weather, just wait a minute, it will change.” – Mark Twain.

The weather this year has been strange; raining almost every day in the spring, and many days this summer.  It is a bit unusual.  Several years ago, we went through a drought, again this is not the norm.  I remember because it was our first year when we got really serious about gardening.  Gardening is hard!  There are so many factors that affect your efforts, but that is another story.  At that time, there was a lot of talk about our nation being judged, and about waterless clouds being a curse.  I don’t know if we were cursed or not, but the next year, we got too much rain.  And again, this was atypical.  I remember because I decided that after the drought, I was never going to complain about the weather again.  It was another challenging year for gardening.  I decided that I should do a cloud series.  And I wondered why some believe in God, and others do not, and why some believe in angels, but not God.

I was driving down a man-made city street in my man-made car looking at man-made buildings, stop lights, and so on… everything around me was created by humans.  Even the landscaping was designed by a human being.  And then I looked up.  There was a cloud floating overhead.

This cloud series has been whirling around in my mind for several years.  This year, I wondered and have heard others say, “Where is this weather coming from?”  I even asked myself, “Where are these clouds coming from?”  I decided that maybe God was trying to tell me something.  Even though I started working on it, as you can see from previous posts, I had obstacles to overcome.

It is funny, “Christians” can have certain ideas as to what Christian art should look like.  Christians have told me what I can and cannot create.  It became so frustrating that being an artist became my dirty little secret.

Thankfully I found ART AND THE BIBLE by Francis A. Schaeffer.

But there is another side to the Lordship of Christ, and this involves the total culture – including the area of creativity.  Again, evangelical or biblical Christianity has been weak at this point.  About all that we have produced is very romantic Sunday school art.  We do not seem to understand that the arts too are supposed to be under the Lordship of Christ.

 About the Work:

The work is small, not because God is small but because our relationship with God is personal.  Therefore, I wanted the viewer to have to get up and go look at them to see the image.  I intended for the image size to be 4 x 6, but some have expanded outside of my border.  I felt that I was creating an inspired body of work only because it kept me thinking about God.  My images in no way are to be understood as images of God, and are in no way an interpretation of any scripture verse.

But I am going to share a verse anyway.

Acts 1: 9-11 After he said this, he was taken up before their very eyes, and a cloud hid him from their site. 10) They were looking intently up into the sky as he was going, when suddenly two men dressed in white stood beside them. 11) “Men of Galilee,” they said, “why do you stand here looking into the sky?  This same Jesus, who has been taken from you into heaven, will come back in the same way you have seen him go into heaven.”

I keep looking up.

Leave a Reply

