More Magic, More Graphite

Ransom Smith 2

Have you ever looked back to your childhood and thought about what your adult life was going to look like?  Do you ever wonder what in the world happened?  Of course I was only a child, what did I know?  One of the biggest surprises was this food-thing.  Oh my goodness, do we have to eat three times a day?  On top of that, I started canning.  Never saw that coming.  I can seriously say that canning food has been the biggest surprise of all.  We bought our current house mostly because we loved the backyard.  The previous owners had a big garden plot.  When I saw it, I thought “tennis court.”  When my husband saw it, he thought “garden.”  So, in went a garden.  The next thing I knew, I was given a canner.  And so my adventure began.

It is kind of like when an idea, or any opportunity hits.  Suddenly, out of the blue, an idea comes along and you just have to run with it.  One day I walked into my local art supply store and these water soluble pencils just sort of jumped out at me.  I knew they would be fun, that they would take me back to my childhood, back to that feeling when I first started drawing.  Kind of like the way riding a bike makes me feel like a child again, carefree and outside of time.

Elizabeth Gilbert talks about the creative process in her book Big Magic.  After reading Big Magic during Christmas break, I was once again inspired and committed to nurturing my creativity.  If you are stuck in a rut, I highly recommend this book.  If you are lacking courage, I highly recommend this book.  If you need motivation, I highly recommend this book!  I read my first copy from the library.  I loved this book so much I went out and bought it.

And I really enjoy the water soluble graphite too.

I had been wanting to do a cloud series for some time.  This is the beginning.  I don’t know yet where it will go from here.  I don’t intend to plan it all that much.  I’m just going along for the ride.

Ransom Smith 1

 

Ransom Smith 3

“Creativity is contagious, pass it on” – Albert Einstein

2 thoughts on “More Magic, More Graphite

Leave a Reply

