Painting with Pastel

Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue

I have wandered back into my blue phase. This is good! And I decided that I wanted to paint tree scenes, because, well, I love trees. Who doesn’t? Anyway, I typically start with a blue underpainting because I have ingrained in my head that shadows are cool. The Impressionists said so. If you have been following my blog, you may remember one of the golden rules of working with pastel; work dark to light. So I start with my cool, dark colors. I also decided that maybe I need to paint more blue trees because I heard someone say that they were going to start painting blue trees. Imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

I still find it fascinating to see how others work, and will always be amazed by those who can start in one corner and work their way across the page to completion. I cannot do that. I have to work all over at the same time. I think it naturally follows that I would do so, because we work dark to light, I find it natural to put my darks in everywhere first. Although this does not mean that those who can start in one corner are not doing so. Here is an example of my underpainting. This is a little bit further along than just the underpainting. I did add a bit of the blue green and redefined some of my darks.

Out of the Blue 1

Still working my way from dark to light, I added some warmer colors to give the feeling of light. Being a colorist, I use color and value to create my vision. In other words, I am not just using a range of dark to light greens to paint my trees. Why? I just love color.

Out of the Blue 2

I continued working dark to light and felt at this point that I was pretty much done. After a few days of not looking at it, I came back to it and added more branches and subtle details. I like the abstraction and the feeling that we can sense that this is a painting of trees.

Out of the Blue 3

Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt,
and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.
~ Leonardo da Vinci
7 thoughts on “Painting with Pastel

  1. you are not just a good painter but also a lovely writer. this is great cos you can express yourself both in you painting and your words keep it up! i also would love to paint pastel like you but well i keep trying and don’t worry you get to see the best of me soon. wonder if we can talk about your arts maybe you can inspire me to the top. well if you don’t mind contact me on my e-mail fredartworld@gmail.com, thanks

Leave a Reply

