Gene Stratton-Porter Historical Site

My family and I went up to see the Gene Stratton-Porter Historical Site on Sylvan Lake near Rome City, Indiana.  It was so beautiful.  I loved the gardens.  I picked up a book of poetry by Stratton-Porter prior to the trip.  I am inspired by the fact that she accomplished so much; writing – novels, poetry, and for women’s magazines, photography and then making films of her novels.  She even built houses!   And she was a mother as well.  I tell myself, if she could accomplish all of that and during the first quarter of the twentieth century without all of our modern conveniences, then I should have no problem producing many paintings.

 

Loblolly

Loblolly

Leave a Reply

